I'm a simple Massachusetts boy who has a high passion for film, literature, television, internet, all the above. I voice my opinions through the medium of reviews. I mostly like to decode film, seeing through performances and settings and getting to the heart of the story or meaningful moral. But, I also review TV shows, some books, anything really, and I hope everyone can enjoy what I write and say.
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Lady GaGa's "Marry The Night" music video. Thoughts...
Tonight, GaGa premiered to the world her new 13 minute music video for her newest single, the first track off Born This Way "Marry The Night", and in an interview before the unveiling, she called it "autobiographical" with moments of surrealism. She didn't mention however, that maybe about five minutes of the video could be called autobiographical, while the rest of the clip is full of fire, explosions, and dancing (of course).
Now don't get me wrong I didn't mind the extravagant imagery, along with a topless GaGa bathing in hair-dyed water, but when she said it'd be biographical, i.e. showing moments from her life, I was like...sweet! because if anyone in the music biz, GaGa is someone I'd love to view, life-wise.
But in the video, there was a bizarre elongated moments of her dancing atop a car, after exploding a series of others behind her. For some reason I highly doubt this ever happened. It might be something interesting to toss in when you're writing concepts and ideas to film for a song; but the fact that I was told it was about things that happened to her in reality, I don't know. I wouldn't call it a let down, but I'd say confidently that I was surprised.
The beginning of the video however shows her nearly comatose in a hospital, surrounded by lunatics and the sick, while herself is coming too, listening to music puffing a ciggy and tilting her hospital cap to the side, speaking French. It was beautiful in a sad kind of way, to see her like that, because in my mind I saw how it would actually look if the situation played as such; GaGa on a gurney, not something a gay/fan wants to see. The scenes following deal with her being phoned about losing her label, and after a slight meltdown she's "bedazzling" a strut down a long glorious hallway, bouncing herself back, it's righteous how it is.
When I watched her video, I liked it, I liked everything I saw. It's pop, so there's dancing and uptempo beats, and it's GaGa, so it's odd and mysterious, edited with fast cuts randomly put together, featuring nudity and a close-to-psycho GaGa. I wish it could have been a bit more heartbreaking, I wish the video wasn't such a serious head-scratchier, because me, a GaGa fan, was like "Huh?" during a lot of the cuts, which hopefully was something GaGa intended, a puzzler with deep meaning, having us as a whole trying to dig further not just into her mind, but in the video's conscious also.
If I had to rate the video I'd give "Marry The Night" three and a half stars out of four, because while I loved every styled hypnotic flaming distraught moment, I couldn't help feeling that it could have been just a bit more epic, considering it had to follow her other monumental works "Bad Romance", Telephone", and "Poker Face", "Alejandro". But it's such a different look at her genius however, that it can stand on it's own. It'll be, if anything, one of those things that'll get better with age. It's a future classic, and it's GaGa, so it has to be in someway.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment